LXXX Brigade

This unit was formed as part of the raising of the Second New Army, K2. It is also sometimes shown as 80 Brigade RFA.


  • This brigade was originally comprised of numbers 250, 251 and 252 Batteries RFA and the Brigade Ammunition Column. It was placed under command of the 17th (Northern) Division. The brigade then remained with the division until it was broken up in August 1916: you can see details of its battles and movements on the page describing the division.
    • In January 1915 the three six-gun batteries were reorganised to become four four-gun batteries and were titled as A, B, C and D Batteries.
    • The Brigade Ammunition Column left between 9 and 11 May 1916 to merge with others in the divisional artillery to form the 17th Divisional Ammunition Column.
    • On 20 May 1916 D Battery left to join 81 Brigade as its C Battery. It was replaced by the arrival of D (Howitzer) Battery from 81 Brigade.
    • On 31 August 1916 the brigade was broken up. A and half of B Battery went to join 78 Brigade RFA; C and the other half of B went to 79 Brigade RFA; D (Howitzer) Battery went to 81 Brigade RFA.

Can't find what you are looking for? Run into a brick wall? Can't understand military documents? Benefit from the Long, Long Trail's professional service, fourteeneighteen|research.
fourteeneighteen logo

The Long, Long Trail is pleased to recommend Naval & Military Press, the home of military history books on the web.

The Long, Long Trail is pleased to recommend Battle Honours, the UK’s leading company offering battlefield tours, with the ability and experience to arrange tours for groups of all sizes.
Battle Honours logo

Visit the Long, Long Trail's bookstore: The Dugout