LXV (Howitzer) Brigade

This unit was formed as part of the raising of the First New Army, K1. It is also sometimes shown as 65 Brigade RFA.

History

  • This brigade was originally comprised of numbers 205, 206 and 207 (Howitzer) Batteries RFA and the Brigade Ammunition Column. It was placed under command of the 12th (Eastern) Division.
    • In February 1915 the three six-gun batteries were reorganised to become four four-gun batteries and were titled as A, B, C and D.
    • On 18 June 1915 C Battery left. It joined 129 Brigade (27th Division) on 6 September 1915.
    • The brigade was reorganised on 25 May 1916. A an B Batteries left to join 62 and 63 Brigades respectively. The D Batteries of 62, 63 and 64 Brigades joined and became A, B and C Batteries of this brigade.
    • The brigade was broken up on 30 August 1916 and then ceased to exist. HQ went to 63 Brigade; one section of A Battery went to 63 Brigade; B Battery joined 63 Brigade but was split to bring other batteries of that brigade up to six guns each; the other section of A Battery joined C Battery, which then joined 62 Brigade; D Battery moved to 63 Brigade.

Can't find what you are looking for? Run into a brick wall? Can't understand military documents? Benefit from the Long, Long Trail's professional service, fourteeneighteen|research.
fourteeneighteen logo

The Long, Long Trail is pleased to recommend Naval & Military Press, the home of military history books on the web.

The Long, Long Trail is pleased to recommend Battle Honours, the UK’s leading company offering battlefield tours, with the ability and experience to arrange tours for groups of all sizes.
Battle Honours logo

Visit the Long, Long Trail's bookstore: The Dugout