LI Brigade

This unit was formed as part of the raising of the First New Army, K1. It is also sometimes shown as 51 Brigade RFA.

History

  • This brigade was originally comprised of numbers 163, 164 and 165 Batteries RFA and the Brigade Ammunition Column. It was placed under command of the 9th (Scottish) Division and went to France with it in May 1915.
    • In February 1915 the three six-gun batteries were reorganised to become four four-gun batteries and were titled as A, B, C and D.
    • On 21 February 1916 D Battery left to join 53 Brigade of the same Division, being replaced by the former D (Howitzer) Battery of that brigade which now became D/51.
    • On 8 September 1916, A and B were increased to six guns when joined by sections from A Battery of 53 Brigade, and the same happened to C Battery which was joined by a section from C/53.
    • Two howitzers made D Battery up to six when a section joined from D/52 on 10 January 1917.

Can't find what you are looking for? Run into a brick wall? Can't understand military documents? Benefit from the Long, Long Trail's professional service, fourteeneighteen|research.
fourteeneighteen logo

The Long, Long Trail is pleased to recommend Naval & Military Press, the home of military history books on the web.

The Long, Long Trail is pleased to recommend Battle Honours, the UK’s leading company offering battlefield tours, with the ability and experience to arrange tours for groups of all sizes.
Battle Honours logo

Visit the Long, Long Trail's bookstore: The Dugout