Units of the Royal Field Artillery

This set of pages describes the formation, attachments and history of each brigade of the Royal Field Artillery. For details of movements and battles, click through to the Divisions concerned. Note: in early 1917 many RFA Brigades were detached from Divisions and placed under orders of higher formations. From this point they were known as Army Brigades. This change in command and organisational structure affected regular, Territorial and New Army units alike. In all of the unit designations below, "(H)" means "Howitzer". Throughout the war there was many changes, with batteries being moved from one brigade to another. This tended to blur the distinctions between regular, Territorial and New Army brigades, increasingly so as the war progressed.

RFA units of the regular army

As with all elements of the regular army, these units were, after being mobilised in August 1914, manned by a mixture of serving regulars, army and Special Reservists. From around October 1914 they began to be supplemented by wartime recruits and by the war's end the majority of the complement of most regular units were not career soldiers. In general the regular RFA units were under command of the regular Divisions, until from late 1915 they were increasingly mixed into the New Army Divisions

RFA units of the Territorial Force

In general the TF artillery units were under command of the TF Divisions although some were sent overseas early to supplement the firepower of regular Divisions.

RFA units of the New Armies

The "Kitchener" units were generally under command of the New Army Divisions.

RFA Brigades

Please note that this page is currently undergoing a complete rebuild. If the unit in which you are interested does not yet appear in the list of links below please check the old page.

Please also note that RFA Brigades often appear designated by Roman numerals.