The Dragoons

1st (Royal) Dragoons
August 1914 : at Potchefstroom in South Africa.
Recalled to England, arrived 19 September 1914.
Moved to Ludgershall and placed under command of 6th Cavalry Brigade in 3rd Cavalry Division.
8 October 1914 : landed at Ostende.

2nd Dragoons (Royal Scots Greys)
August 1914 : at York, part of 5th Cavalry Brigade. Moved to France.
6 September 1914 : Brigade placed under Gough's Command.
13 September 1914 : Gough's Command renamed as 2nd Cavalry Division.

6th (Inniskilling) Dragoons
August 1914 : in Mhow in India, part of the Mhow Cavalry Brigade.
Moved with Brigade to France as part of 2nd Indian Cavalry Division, landed Marseilles at 14 December 1914.
September 1915 : Brigade transferred to 1st Indian Cavalry Division.
26 November 1916 : 1st Indian Cavalry Division renamed as 4th Cavalry Division.
10 March 1918 : Division broken up. Transferred to 7th Cavalry Brigade in 3rd Cavalry Division.

6th (Inniskilling) Dragoons Service Squadron
The regiment formed a new squadron at Enniskillen in November 1914 as cavalry for 36th (Ulster) Division. Landed in France with Division on 6 October 1915. Left Division and became X Corps Cavalry Regiment on 21 June 1916. Broken up in summer 1917, with troops being dismounted and posted as infantry to 9th Royal Irish Fusiliers.