The 3rd Australian Division in 1914-1918


On 2 February 1916, after the AIF had withdrawn from Gallipoli and was being reorganised in Egypt, the Australian Government agreed to form a third Division. Assembly began in March 1916 and the Division began to arrive in England in July 1916. After intensive training it crossed to France in December 1916 and thereafter fought in many of the major actions of the war. The 3rd Australian Division was initially under the command of then Major General John Monash, who went on to command the Australian Corps and who is generally regarded as amongst the finest military commanders of the war. He was succeeded on 31 May 1918 by Major General John Gellibrand:


  • The Battle of Messines (7-10 June)
  • The Third Battles of Ypres
    - The Battle of Broodseinde (4 Oct)
    - The First Battle of Passchendaele (12 Oct)


Australian Divisions were not affected by the restructuring that took place in the British Divisions in February 1918 (in which the infantry brigades were reduced from four battalions down to three).

  • The First Battles of the Somme, 1918
    - The Battle of the Avre (4 April) (9th Australian Brigade)
    - The capture of Hamel (4 July) (11th Australian Brigade)
  • The Battle of Amiens (8-11 Aug)
  • The Second Battles of the Somme 1918
    - The Battle of Albert (21-23 Aug)
    - The Second Battle of Bapaume (31 Aug - 3 Sept)
  • The Battles of the Hindenburg Line
    - The Battle of the St Quentin Canal (29 Sep - 2 Oct)

The Division was not selected to advance into Germany.

Demobilisation commenced in early 1919 and by May 1919 the last troops of the Division had departed for home.

Order of battle

Divisional headquarters



under whose command came the Infantry Brigades and the other divisional troops listed below

9th Australian Brigade


33rd Australian Infantry


34th Australian Infantry


35th Australian Infantry


36th Australian Infantry


9th Australian Machine Gun Company

Left to move into 3rd Australian MG Battalion February 1918

9th Australian Trench Mortar Battery


10th Australian Brigade


37th Australian Infantry


38th Australian Infantry


39th Australian Infantry


40th Australian Infantry


10th Australian Machine Gun Company

Left to move into 3rd Australian MG Battalion February 1918

10th Australian Trench Mortar Battery


11th Australian Brigade


41st Australian Infantry


42nd Australian Infantry


43rd Australian Infantry


44th Australian Infantry


11th Australian Machine Gun Company

Left to move into 3rd Australian MG Battalion February 1918

11th Australian Trench Mortar Battery


Divisional Troops


3rd Australian Pioneer Bn


207th Machine Gun Company

A British unit. Joined October 1916, left October 1917.

23rd Australian Machine Gun Company

Joined February 1917. Merged into 3rd Australian MG Battalion February 1918

3rd Australian Machine Gun Battalion

Formed in February 1918 by merging the 9th, 10th, 11th and 23rd Australian Machine Gun Companies

3rd Australian Divisional Train

A unit of the Army Service Corps made up of 867, 868, 869 and 870 Companies ASC

3rd Australian Mobile Veterinary Section


3rd Australian Divisional Employment Company

Joined January 1917

Divisional Mounted Troops


3rd Australian Cyclist Company

Left July 1916

Divisional Royal Artillery


7th Australian Brigade RFA


8th Australian Brigade RFA


9th Australian Brigade RFA

Broken up in January 1917

23rd Australian (Howitzer) Brigade RFA

Absorbed into other units in January 1917

3rd Australian Divisional Ammunition Column RFA


V.3.A Heavy Trench Mortar Battery RFA

Formed in August 1916, left February 1918

X.3.A, Y.3.A and Z.3.A Medium Mortar Batteries RFA

Formed in August 1916; in February 1918, Z was broken up and the other batteries reorganised to have 6 x 6-inch weapons each

Divisional Royal Engineers


9th Australian Field Company RE


10th Australian Field Company RE


11th Australian Field Company RE


3rd Australian Divisional Signal Company RE


Divisional Royal Army Medical Corps


9th Australian Field Ambulance RAMC


10th Australian Field Ambulance RAMC


11th Australian Field Ambulance RAMC


Search the site

Related information

Australians of the 37th Battalion and French Colonial troops at the International Post, near Monument Wood on 21 June 1918. Members of the 37th Battalion, 10th Brigade, 3rd Division, standing in the trench, front to back, Private (Pte) D. Boyd, Pte J. Leger (probably Ledger), Lieutenant Norman Gordon McNicol MC. Remainder French Garrison of International Post, part of the 3rd Tirailleurs Regiment, standing along left of trench. Image courtesy of the Australian War Memorial. Larger copy

The memorial to the 3rd Australian Division, which stands at Sailly-le-Sec on the road between the Somme towns of Corbie and Bray. This photograph is courtesy of the Frank Hatzman collection at with my thanks.
Larger copy


See more Anzac titles here


Can't find what you are looking for? Run into a brick wall? Can't understand military documents? Benefit from the Long, Long Trail's professional service, fourteeneighteen|research.
fourteeneighteen logo

The Long, Long Trail is pleased to recommend Naval & Military Press, the home of military history books on the web.

The Long, Long Trail is pleased to recommend Battle Honours, the UK’s leading company offering battlefield tours, with the ability and experience to arrange tours for groups of all sizes.
Battle Honours logo

Visit the Long, Long Trail's bookstore: The Dugout